More Spring Around the Farm

Standard

The last few days have been BEAUTIFUL around the farm! I mean… despite the mud. Honestly, even the mud isn’t that bad!

Lilac buds against the blue sky!

I have been useless the past few days, except for the part where I’ve run around taking photos of everything in my wake. I had minor surgery on Tuesday (all went well), and have a 10lb lifting restriction until next Tuesday. The first day of doing nothing was a welcome “break”… the last few, however, have been exceptionally boring. Until today šŸ™‚

Today, I tagged along to my friend’s lesson with our trainer, Dorothy. A welcome change of scenery! I soooooooo longed to ride – unfortunately, along with the lifting ban, I’ve also been instructed to not even HANDLE the horses, much less ride them! Ugh. I’m counting the days… THREE left!

Anyhow – here is a picture of my friend’s horse (please excuse his glowing eyes)… check out that beautifully shiny new egg-butt snaffle, and his snappy new bridle! Whoo-hoo! My friend, an experienced equestrian, is transitioning from a life of mostly Western riding and Barrel Racing to my sport of choice – Dressage (an English discipline). Yay! Moose (the horse) was a little upset at being disturbed from his warm, sunshine-drenched slumber… hence the grumpy expression.

Moose and his new tack!

Spring tends to be muddy, but the last few days have been wonderful – the ground was mostly sticky-mud, as opposed to soppy-mud! What is the difference between sticky-mud and soppy-mud? I’ll be glad to educate you!

  • Sticky-Mud
    • Sticks to the soles of your shoes (especially shoes with tread)
    • Has a “play dough” texture
    • Firm enough to stand on, however, if you decide to run about, be prepared – the stopping will likely result in a slippery-sliding-stumbling mess.
  • Soppy-Mud
    • Sucks your whole leg in, up to your knee*
    • Oozes from your boots/pants/legs… or wherever it touches you
    • * = You are likely to loose your boot or shoe… or may even loose your balance and be swallowed whole by the stuff… Uck. Just… uck.

    By the way… those are technical terms, so don’t go throwing them about lightly. šŸ˜‰

“What do you mean, ‘EWWWWW MUD’? Come out here and give it a roll, it’ll be GREAT, I promise!”

My husband and my horse – an unlikely pair!

Miss Tink caught me sitting down on the job, and came over for a pat.

And, this was the beautiful sunset this evening as my husband brought the horses in! ā¤

About Chelsea

Hostler extraordinaire! Wife of an unintentional "horse farmer". Never a dull moment on the farm! We are home to 16 beautiful horses, ranging from two "A" minis, to a nearly 17hh, but quite svelte Saddlebred. We also maintain a seasonal organic garden that we hope gets better each year! It started with 72 failed tomato seedlings two years ago - I promptly went to the store and bought 32 "started" plants. Oops - I didn't know better! We've transitioned between types and amounts of veggies in the garden - I still havn't found that magical balance, but it is hugely rewarding and fun experience! So far, my gardening faves include tomatoes, squash (any variety, really - although I especially enjoyed the "Patty Pan" or "Flying Saucer" variety), cucumbers, peppers and peas. We are blessed to count our group of boarders as dear friends and we all work together here like extended family. Their friendship makes our job much more enriching. We love being farmers and carrying on an American tradition! I hope you enjoy this autobiography documenting the evolution of a city girl-turned-farmer! I always thought it would be nice to have a small farm with room for a handful of horses, some chickens (for eggs) - and, this... this is a lot more than I had hoped for or could have anticipated being a part of. I didn't go to school to be a farmer, but, I'm learning as I go!

Leave a Reply

