Spring is (almost) here!

Standard

The last few days around the farm have been divine! It has been so warm that I happily wandered about without a coat – a heavy fleece jacket was all I needed! Yay!

Last evening, after my lesson was finished, I decided to rummage around in the flower bed nearest the front entrance… somewhere beneath the strange, alien weeds that grow during the winter (????) is a little section of Muscari (often referrered to as “Miniature Grape Hyacinth”). Guess what! There were beautiful little sprigs of newly sprouting bulbs! SPRING IS HERE!

I don’t believe what any weather man or almanac tells me (they are never right) – my little flowers are clear indicators that Spring is very much on its way in! Not to mention, my husband saw his first Robin yesterday (I didn’t see a Robin, but I did see a nesting pair of Downy Woodpeckers while on the Flint River Trail walking). I’m smiling really big as I type this 🙂

It’s raining today… which is okay. It gives me an opportunity to finish a few inside things that have been neglected since the pretty weather outside hit 🙂 Like, assembling the next-to-the-stove shelf that I decided to build from scratch. Heh.

Enjoy the beginnings of Spring!

About Chelsea

Hostler extraordinaire! Wife of an unintentional "horse farmer". Never a dull moment on the farm! We are home to 16 beautiful horses, ranging from two "A" minis, to a nearly 17hh, but quite svelte Saddlebred. We also maintain a seasonal organic garden that we hope gets better each year! It started with 72 failed tomato seedlings two years ago - I promptly went to the store and bought 32 "started" plants. Oops - I didn't know better! We've transitioned between types and amounts of veggies in the garden - I still havn't found that magical balance, but it is hugely rewarding and fun experience! So far, my gardening faves include tomatoes, squash (any variety, really - although I especially enjoyed the "Patty Pan" or "Flying Saucer" variety), cucumbers, peppers and peas. We are blessed to count our group of boarders as dear friends and we all work together here like extended family. Their friendship makes our job much more enriching. We love being farmers and carrying on an American tradition! I hope you enjoy this autobiography documenting the evolution of a city girl-turned-farmer! I always thought it would be nice to have a small farm with room for a handful of horses, some chickens (for eggs) - and, this... this is a lot more than I had hoped for or could have anticipated being a part of. I didn't go to school to be a farmer, but, I'm learning as I go!

Leave a Reply

